filterbion.blogg.se

Bridget everett tour
Bridget everett tour






bridget everett tour

What did you learn?ĮVERETT: I know it in my core that, like, it's the thing that - it's, like, my emotional connective tissue, but I haven't ever really stopped to sort of dissect it. SHAPIRO: When you say it helps you discover something about your relationship to singing, like, get specific. But it helped me understand my relationship to singing and to my sister who's passed away and to just - it was a way to kind of discover myself in a new way through Sam. SHAPIRO: I love that, like, that's an important point to note.ĮVERETT: Well, my friends bring it up from time to time.

bridget everett tour

I think - you know, I'm Midwestern born and raised and never have seen a mental health care professional in my life. Did playing the role allow you to understand aspects of yourself that maybe you were only able to see once you sort of stepped outside of your daily reality and inhabited Sam?ĮVERETT: Yeah, I think - that's a really good question, and I think so. SHAPIRO: This character, much like you, is a swimmer, sang in show choir, was raised in Kansas. It's called "Somebody Somewhere," and Bridget Everett told me it taps into some of the real, conflicted feelings she has about her hometown.ĮVERETT: While I appreciate Kansas and there's a lot of love about it, I never - I always felt like a square peg in a round hole there. Well, the new show on HBO imagines what would happen if someone like her, a character named Sam, went back to live in small-town Kansas, where the real Bridget grew up. She seems like the kind of performer who could only exist in the big city. SHAPIRO: That's a clip from her performance at the legendary New York cabaret venue Joe's Pub. She uses the size of her voice, personality and body to connect with an audience emotionally and physically.īRIDGET EVERETT: Let me just clear up two quick things. Once you see Bridget Everett perform live on stage, you will never forget her. It's about what may happen if someone like her went back to live in her small Kansas hometown. NPR's Ari Shapiro speaks with Bridget Everett about her new HBO show, Somebody Somewhere.








Bridget everett tour